Error When Trying to Run New Install of PEQ:TGC Client

Discussion in 'General' started by Qilua, Feb 3, 2019.

1. Qilua

Qilua Orc Pawn

Hi, all.

I'm very new to PEQ, and I'm having a problem getting the client to run on my PC. I've installed it on my laptop without issues, but I figured that the PC would be better for attempting the whole multibox thing.

Anyway, when I try to run the EQGame shortcut that's been fixed to have patchme at the end of the target in properties, I get an error that reads as follows:

eqgame.exe - Bad Image
    C:\Windows\System32\d3dx9_30.dll is either not designed to run on Windows or it contains an error. I'm guessing that something is wrong with my DirectX setup somehow? I don't know, as everything else I play on my desktop is fine. Anyway, if it helps at all, the error status is 0xc000012f.

Anyone have any idea what I can do about this error? It comes up when I double click the EQGame shortcut.

Thanks for any help you can offer! :)

2. tackleberry

tackleberry Orc Pawn

you are missing directx

there is no install for the client it just works

3. Qilua

Qilua Orc Pawn

No, I've the latest DirectX, and I reinstalled it after finding the error when I tried to launch the client. I'm just not sure where to look, given that particular error.

4. mackal

mackal Pyrilen Fireblade

You're missing DirectX 9.

5. chance

chance Enraged War Boar

you need the CORRECT version not just the latest.

Check your ROF2 folder for a Redist subfolder.
    If its not there, try looking for DirectX9 Redist available from Microsoft website.

Do NOT just try to add the .dll file or download it by itself from any random website.

If you want to know, additional Info: https://www.howtogeek.com/323523/why-does-every-pc-game-install-its-own-copy-of-directx/

You will probably also need to install "vcredist_x86" from microsoft as well.

6. tackleberry

tackleberry Orc Pawn

yea yea visual basic updates those are good too

7. chance

chance Enraged War Boar